Tag Archives: GT3

Signatech Alpine get’s first ELMS win at the Hungaroring

The Oreca 03 from Signatech Alpine won the 3h of the Hungaroring ahead of the Murphy Prototypes from Hartley/Hirschi. The LMP2 championship leaders TDS Racing were having a awful race, with many incidents ending up 6th in class. The Jota Sport Zytek from Dolan/Turvey were having a battle with Hartley/Hirschi for 2nd, but they had a puncture in the 2nd hour and had to pit. 30 minutes later they got passed by the Oreca 03 from Hartley/Hirschi, but due a late pitstop they lost 2nd position again. So Dolan/Turvey were 3rd. The Race Perfomance Oreca 03 retired after having two spins.

In LMPC, the #49 Team Endurance Challenge car won the category

The Porsche 911 GT3 RSR from Proton Competition won in GTE ahead of he RAM Racing Ferrari and the AF Corse Ferrari. The IMSA Matmut Perfomance was leading the LMGTE class in the first half an hour but they got a stop and go penalty for leavng the engine on during the pitstop. So the Proton Porsche was leading the race until the end.

SMP Racing Ferrari won in GTC, their 3rd win in a row. GTC championship leaders Ecurie Ecosse with their BMW Z4 GT3 were having a solid race until 20 minutes till the end were they had contact with #56 AF Corse Ferrar 458 LMGTE car. So they ended up being 5th in class.

The next race of the European Le Mans Series will be in two weeks time at the Paul Ricard Circuit in Le Castellet, France. All championships will be decided at this race.

FIA GT Series: Sandström/Stippler won the Championship Race at Nogaro

Loeb controlled the race at the start


Qualifying race winner Sebastian Loeb started from pole and controlled the race.

But the WRT Audi from Mayr-Melnhof catched up the SLR McLaren MP4-12C, so it all came down from 3 seconds to nearly under a second.

Loebs little mistake in the pits, with catastrophic consequences


But then the pitstop window was open and everybody had to get in.

The WRT Audi was the the first of the front runners to arrive, Mayr-Melnhof changed with Rene Rast.

A lap later the SLR McLaren from Sebastian Loeb arrived for a driver change with Alvaro Parente.

But Loeb unlocked his seatbelts before the pitstop, it’s forbidden to do that.

Loeb/Parente got a drive through penalty, but before that, he had a intense battle with Rast for the lead after the pitstop.

Parente was all over his place. But then Rast was going wide, Parente looked for an overtake, but Rast closed the door at the exit of the corner and they touched.

Rast spun and Parente was driving away with the lead.

But they soon swapped positions due the penalty from Parente.

Parente was ending at 6th place after the drive through and he stayed there until the end.

Great battle for 3rd until the last lap


Edward Sandström in the 2nd WRT-Audi was passing the Charouz-Mercedes SLS AMG from Alon Day for 2nd position.

Then in the last lap Laurens Vanthoor overtoke the SLR Mclaren from Alvaro Parente and then overtoke later in the lap the Mercedes from Day, what was a quite impressive run.

Eventually Rast won the first round of the FIA GT Series.

But Rast/Mayr-Melnhof  were penalised due to an engine cutoff infraction during a pitstop.

So Sandström/Stippler handed the victory.

After six hours after the race end, the race stewards decided to penalise Loeb/Parente again, this time because of the collision between Parente and Rast for the lead.

They eventually ended on a disappointing 12th position.

Taking maximum points in the Gentlemens Trophy was the SOFREV Ferrari 458 Italia of Fabien Barthez and Gerard. The pair took the double after claiming the win in yesterday’s sprint race.

The tense battle between multiple supercar brands continues in three weeks’ time when the FIA GT Series re-convenes at Zolder in Belgium on the weekend of 20-21 April.

Full Results of the FIA GT Series championship race at Nogaro:

1 13 PRO F.Stippler/E.Sandstrom Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi R8 LMS  35 1:00:25.029 126.4 22 1:37.559 134.2
2 11 PRO S.Ortelli/L.Vanthoor Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi R8 LMS        35 1:00:33.070 8.041 126.1 24 1:37.213 134.6
3 1 PRO M.Buhk/A.Day HTP Gravity Charouz Mercedes SLS AMG GT3                 35 1:00:33.979 8.950 126.1 15 1:38.435 133.0
4 5 PRO A.Kumpen/E.Ide Phoenix Racing Audi R8 LMS                                              35 1:00:35.114 10.085 126.0 23 1:37.815 133.8
5 14 PAM C.Viera/C.Campanico Novadriver Audi R8 LMS                                          35 1:00:40.277 15.248 125.9 23 1:38.166 133.3
6 12 PAM N.Mayr-Melnhof/R.Rast Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi R8 LMS 35 1:00:43.079 18.050 125.8 25 1:37.630 134.1
7 35 PAM L.Ordonez/A.Buncombe Nissan GT Academy Team RJN Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3 35 1:00:43.666 18.637 125.7 20 1:37.689 134.0
8 25 PAM D.Baumann/H.Proczyk GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini LP560-4           35    1:00:56.467 31.438 125.3 26 1:37.992 133.6
9 0 PRO C.Bueno/A.Khodair BMW Team Brazil BMW E89 Z4                                                      35 1:00:59.628 34.599 125.2 25 1:38.919 132.3
10 28 PRO K.Chandhok/J.Seyffarth SMS Seyffarth Motorsport Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 35 1:01:00.085 35.056 125.2 23 1:37.972 133.6
11 10 PRO A.Zuber/M.Parisy Sebastien Loeb Racing McLaren MP4-12C                         35   1:01:01.436 36.407 125.1 26 1:38.867 132.4
12 9 PRO S.Loeb/A.Parente Sebastien Loeb Racing McLaren MP4-12C                           35  1:01:06.064 41.035 125.0 6 1:37.872 133.7
13 21 PRO R.Zonta/S.Jimenez BMW Team Brazil BMW E89 Z4                    35    1:01:18.610 53.581 124.5 33 1:39.185 132.0
14 32 PAM W.Reip/M.Shulzhitskiy Nissan GT Academy Team RJN Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3 35     1:01:33.540 1:08.511 124.0 34 1:39.421 131.7
15 7 PAM M.Stumpf/C.Ricci ACL by Rodrive Competicoes Ford GT                  35 1:01:40.189 1:15.160 123.8 25 1:39.303 131.8
16 2 PAM S.Afanasiev/A.Simonsen HTP Gravity Charouz Mercedes SLS AMG GT3            35 1:01:48.699 1:23.670 123.5 24 1:38.510 132.9
17 16 PRO D.Keilwitz/N.Kentenich Doerr Motorsport McLaren MP4-12C               35 1:01:49.422 1:24.393 123.5 23 1:39.533 131.5
18 6 PAM A.Ebrahim/J.Jousse Team India by BMW Team India BMW E89 Z4                    34 1:00:22.755 1 LAP 122.8 17 1:39.825 131.1
19 30 PAM J.Beaubelique/S.Ayari SOFREV ASP by Jean-Luc Beaubelique Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 34 1:00:26.548 1 LAP 122.7 21 1:39.311 131.8
20 31 GTR G.Tonelli/F.Barthez SOFREV ASP by Jerome Policand Ferrari 458 Italia GT3            34 1:01:13.411 1 LAP 121.2 31 1:41.183 129.4
21 3 GTR P.Charouz/J.Stovicek HTP Gravity Charouz Mercedes SLS AMG GT3                   33 1:00:22.509 2LAPS 119.2 9 1:41.619 128.8
22 8 GTR R.Mascarello/F.Tozzo ACL by Rodrive Competicoes Ford GT                            33 1:01:42.159 2LAPS 116.7 32 1:40.633 130.1