Loic Duval takes Dindo Capello’s Audi role

Audi has chosen Loic Duval to take Dindo Capello’s place alongside Tom Kristensen and Allan McNish in its Le Mans 24 Hours and World Endurance Championship line-up.

The long-established Kristensen/McNish/Capello trio was broken up last year when Capello decided to step down from the prototype ranks after Le Mans.

Ex-Formula 1 driver Lucas di Grassi joined Kristensen and McNish, who otherwise drove as a duo in the remaining rounds, at the Interlagos WEC round.

But it is Duval who has got the full-season 2013 node for the #2 car, while di Grassi joins Oliver Jarvis and Marc Gene in the #3 for Spa and Le Mans only.

Le Mans and WEC title-winning trio Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler stay together in the #1 R18.

Audi team boss Dr Wolfgang Ullrich said the 2013 line-ups would give the squad’s relative newcomers chances to prove themselves.

“With these three combinations we’ve put together an international team that we expect a lot of,” said Ullrich.

“Our younger drivers will have the chance to establish themselves alongside the experienced Audi drivers who have really been pleasing us with their top results in all these years.”

Duval joined Audi’s LMP1 line-up last year alongside his Japanese racing career, which has seen him claim titles in both Formula Nippon and Super GT.

2013 WEC entry list:

1.  Audi Sport Team Joest	Audi		Andre Lotterer
2.  Audi Sport Team Joest	Audi		Tom Kristensen
7.  Toyota Racing		Toyota		Alex Wurz
8.  Toyota Racing		Toyota		Anthony Davidson
12. Rebellion Racing		Lola-Toyota	Nicolas Prost
21. Strakka Racing		HPD-Honda	Nick Leventis

24. OAK Racing			Morgan-Nissan	Jacques Nicolet
25. Delta-ADR			ORECA-Nissan	John Martin
26. G-Drive Racing		ORECA-Nissan	Roman Rusinov
28. Gulf Racing Middle East	Lola-Nissan	Fabien Giroix
29. Gulf Racing Middle East	Lola-Nissan	Frederic Fatien
30. HVM Status GP		Lola-Judd	Jonathan Kennard
31. Lotus			Lotus		Kevin Weeda
32. Lotus			Lotus		Thomas Holzer
35. OAK Racing			Morgan-Nissan	Olivier Pla
41. Greaves Motorsport		Zytek-Nissan	Christian Zugel
44. Starworks Motorsport	HPD-Honda	Alex Popow
45. OAK Racing			Morgan-Nissan	David Heinemeier Hansson
49. Pecom Racing (AF Corse)	ORECA-Nissan	Luis Perez Companc

51. AF Corse			Ferrari		Gianmaria Bruni
71. AF Corse			Ferrari		Olivier Beretta
91. Porsche AG Team Manthey	Porsche		Marc Lieb
92. Porsche AG Team Manthey	Porsche		Jorg Bergmeister
97. Aston Martin Racing		Aston Martin	Darren Turner
99. Aston Martin Racing		Aston Martin	Stefan Mucke

50. Larbre Competition		Corvette	Patrick Bornhauser
57. Krohn Racing		Ferrari		Tracy Krohn
61. AF Corse			Ferrari		Jack Gerber
76. Imsa Performance		Porsche		Raymond Narac
81. 8Star Motorsports		Ferrari		Enzo Potolicchio
88. Proton Competition		Porsche		Christian Ried
95. Aston Martin Racing		Aston Martin	Allan Simonsen
96. Aston Martin Racing		Aston Martin	Roald Goethe

*Drivers named for administrative purposes only and are subject to change.

Credits: Autosport.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s