Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: The Story

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix is a Formula One race.
It was announced in early 2007 at the Abu Dhabi F1 Festival in the United Arab Emirates. The first race took place on November 1, 2009, held at the Hermann Tilke designed Yas Marina Circuit.

The inaugural race was Formula One’s first ever day-night race, starting at 17:00 local time.
Floodlights used to illuminate the circuit were switched on from the start of the event to ensure a seamless transition from daylight to darkness. Subsequent Abu Dhabi Grands Prix have also been day-night races.

The 2011 Grand Prix was the 18th and penultimate race of the 2011 Formula One season, and took place on 13 November.

The race was won by Lewis Hamilton in a McLaren-Mercedes. Second was Fernando Alonso in a Ferrari, with Jenson Button coming third in a McLaren-Mercedes. Sebastian Vettel, in a Red Bull-Renault, had been in pole position, but retired after a puncture in the first lap whilst going round the second corner.

Laps: 55

Circuit Lenght: 5.554 km

Race Lenght: 305.470 km

Number of times held: 3

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s